Kobudo

The beginnings

After years of hard training in kobujutsu and kobudo with world-famous and legendary grandmasters for handling Okinawan and Chinese weapons, Shihan Athula founded his own kobudo association Dhammika Kobu-Jutsu Ryu International which goes hand in hand with his karate style Dhammika Karate-Do.

Shihan Athula and his students with grand master Chew Choo Soot

Shihan Athula and his students with grand master Chew Choo Soot

In the early 1970s, Shihan Athula learned the ancient Indian weapon styles (Malayalam Sirambaram) of unknown masters. He also learned Chinese-Oriental weapons from Grand Master Chew Choo Soot 10th Dan, who himself knew 18 Chinese weapons.

In the early 1980s, Shihan Athula learned to know the Okinawan weapon system (Okinawa Kobujutsu). The term “kobujutsu” refers to the use of different working equipment and household appliances, which have been converted into unconventional weapons. His first kobujutsu teacher was the late legendary Grandmaster Motokatsu Inoue (10th Dan) who was the founder of Ryu Kyu Kobujutsu. After the death of the grandmaster, he learned the same kobujutsu style from his son Motokatsu Inoue who has long been a grandmaster on his own.

After meeting the late legendary Grand Master Soke Teruo Hayashi, 10th Dan and founder of Okinawa Kobudo Kenshin Ryu, he began to learn Kobudo for a long time.

Later, Shihan Athula met Kyoshi Yamazaki (8th Dan) who is an expert for Iai-do, Ken-do and Bo. In the following years, he learned some weapons including Iai-Do from him for several years. Shihan Athula also traveled to Malaysia, China, and Japan several times to practice with the various weapons. Shihan Athula saw and learned about the diversity of all three types of weapon systems.

The Formation

Dhammika Kobujutsu International logo

Dhammika Kobujutsu International logo

After all the accumulated knowledge about the different weapons, acquired skills and the fact that the old weapon styles are being forgotten and slowly becoming extinct, Shihan Athula Minithanthri decided to create a new weapon style, the so-called Dhammika Kobu-Jutsu Ryu International. The newly created style Dhammika Kobu-Jutsu Ryu International is supposed to combine all his knowledge of weapons such as Malayalam Sirambaram, Chinese-Oriental weapons, Okinawan Kobudo and Okinawan Kobujutsu into one style.

According to Athula, it is first necessary to learn Bo before someone can master Kobudo because this is most of the basic knowledge for all types of weapons.

Dhammika students during Bo training

Dhammika students during Bo training

For this reason, the emphasis in Dhammika Kobu-Jutsu Ryu International is mainly focused on training with the Bo and why there are ten different Bo katas.

Real weapons training is not just to learn a little bit kihon to learn a Kata. Its gives very nice and effective techniques which members can practice with a partners.Then we do some free fighting with partners, only using the techniques what they have learned. Through practicing with partners we can see the effective and dangerous side of the weapons training. Also it is very enjoyable practicing with partners. This is the special side of Dhammika Kobu-Jutsu Ryu.

Dhammika Kobu-Jutsu Ryu International

ダミカ空手道会菅

Die Anfänge

Nach jahrelangem und unermüdlichem Üben von Kobujutsu und Kobudo, einschließlich okinawanischer und chinesisch-orientalische Waffen, bei weltberühmten und legendären Großmeistern, gründete Shihan Athula Minithanthri mit Dhammika Kobujutsu Ryu International seine eigene Stilrichtung, der mit seinem Karate-Stil Dhammika Karate-Do identisch ist.

Shihan Athula mit Schüler bei Großmeister Chew Choo Soot

In den frühen 1970er Jahren lernte Shihan Athula die alten indischen Waffenstile (Malayalam Sirambaram) von unbekannten Meistern. Ferner lernte er chinesisch-orientalische Waffen vom Großmeister Chew Choo Soot 10. Dan, welcher 18 chinesische Waffen kannte.

Anfang der 1980er Jahre lernte Shihan Athula dann das okinawanische Waffensystem (Okinawa Kobujutsu) kennen. Der Begriff „kobujutsu“ bezeichnet hierbei, die Handhabung verschiedener Arbeits- und Haushaltsgeräte, die zu unkonventionelle Waffen umfunktioniert wurden. Sein erster Kobujutsu-Lehrer war der verstorbene legendäre Großmeister Motokatsu Inoue (10. Dan), welcher Begründer des Ryu Kyu Kobujutsu war. Nach dem Tod des Großmeisters lernte Shihan Athula denselben Kobujutsu-Stil von dessen Sohn Motokatsu Inoue, der längst selbst ein gegenwärtiger Großmeister seines Stils ist.

Nachdem er den verstorbenen legendären Großmeister Soke Teruo Hayashi, 10. Dan und Gründer von Okinawa Kobudo Kenshin Ryu, kennengelernt hatte, begann er für eine lange Zeit Kobudo zu erlernen.

Später traf Shihan Athula Kyoshi Yamazaki (8. Dan), einen Experte für Iai-do, Ken-do und Bo. In der Folgezeit lernte er unter ihm für mehrere Jahre einige Waffen einschließlich Iai-Do. Auch reiste Shihan Athula mehrmals nach Malaysia, China und Japan, um all die verschiedenen Waffen zu üben. Shihan Athula sah und lernte dabei die Vielfalt aller drei Arten von Waffensystemen kennen.

Die Entstehung

Logo des Dhammika Kobujutsu International

Nach all dem angesammelten Wissen über die verschiedenen Waffen und angeeigneten Fähigkeiten sowie die Art und Weise wie die alten Waffenstile in Vergessenheit geraten und langsam aussterben, entschied sich Shihan Athula Minithanthri, einen neuen Waffenstil zu schaffen. Dabei soll der neu geschaffene Stil Dhammika Kobu-Jutsu Ryu International all seine Kenntnisse über Waffen wie Malayalam Sirambaram, chinesisch-orientalische Waffen, Okinawan Kobudo und Okinawan Kobujutsu zu einem Stil vereinen.

Wenn jemand Kobudo besser lernen möchte ist es nach Meinung von Shihan Athula förderlich zuerst Bo richtig zu erlernen, da dies den größten Teil des grundlegenden Wissens für alle Arten von Waffen darstellt.

Dhammika Schüler beim Bo-Training

Aus diesem Grund wird im Dhammika Kobujutsu der Schwerpunkt hauptsächlich auf das Training mit dem Bo-Stab gelegt, weshalb es zehn verschiedene Bo-Katas gibt. Daneben werden mit Nunchaku, Kama, Tonfa, Sai und Schwert aber auch die anderen Hauptwaffen praktiziert und gelehrt. Shihan Athula sagt dazu außerdem:

Beim richtigen Waffentraining geht es nicht nur darum, ein bisschen Kihon zu lernen, sondern um eine Kata zu lernen. Es gibt sehr schöne und effektive Techniken, die die Schüler mit einem Partner üben können. Auch führen sie einige freie Kämpfe mit Partnern durch und verwenden dabei jedoch nur die Techniken, die sie gelernt haben. Durch das Üben mit Partnern können wir gleichzeitig die effektive und gefährliche Seite des Waffentrainings kennenlernen. Auch das Üben mit Partnern macht sehr viel Spaß. Dies ist die besondere Seite von Dhammika Kobu-Jutsu Ryu.