Karate

The Historical Origin of Karate-Do

“Karate-Dō” in kanji

Karate-do is a very popular martial art which was developed in Okinawa in the Ryukyu Islands south of Japan during the times of the Ryukyu Kingdom. The history of karate-do can be traced back to the 19th century in Okinawa.
Karate-do means literally “The way of the empty hand” and is both a martial art and a method of self-defence. “The way of the empty hand” is referring to the fact that weapons are not used. Mostly, karate-do is just called karate. The addition “do” is not only used to imply that karate is a martial art, but also to emphasize its philosophical background and its importance as a way of life. In other words, karate-do is also a way to develop one’s personality and strengthen one’s character.

The birthplace of today’s karate is Okinawa. In Okinawa, the early styles of karate were founded. Today, they are often generalized as Shuri-te, Naha-te, and Tomari-te. All of them named after the three Okinawan cities from which they were emerged. It’s worth mentioning that all of these styles go back to Tode which is sometimes called Okinawa-te. So, you can say that Okinawa has always been an important city and region in the history of karate.
From Okinawa, today’s karate has spread to mainland Japan and made further progresses there. But karate itself has neither an Okinawan nor a Japanese origin. Instead, its techniques go back to a centuries-old tradition with Indian and Chinese roots. This is expressed in some of its katas which were developed in Buddhist temples, and which are also connected to Shaolin. So, if we deal with the history of the origins of martial arts including karate, we must derive its origin from Indian Buddhist monks. They used it for self-defence and protection against thieves. Furthermore, the exercises were also practiced for a better health.

But first things first: It is said there was a Buddhist monk called Bodhidharma (* around 440; † around 528) (Chinese 菩提 達摩, Pinyin Pútídámó or Damo 達摩 for short, Japanese Bodai-Daruma or Daruma). While his historical existence is partially proved, the historical details are unclear and still remain in the dark. According to the sources of contemporaries, Bodhidharma was not only the 28th Patriarch of Buddhism in a line of descent from Buddha, but probably also the third son of an Indian king. The latter is supported by the fact that he was trained and educated in all courtly manners and in vajramushti (an ancient Indian form of fighting). Contrary to other reports, Bodhidharma was probably not a member of the Brahmin caste, but of the Kshatriya caste. Today, Bodhidharma is considered to be the first Patriarch of the Chan and Zen lineages.

It’s also said that Bodhidharma left his home south of Madras in his Indian homeland for China in 480 AD, first emigrated to Southern China and then to the imperial court of the Ling dynasty. Subsequently, Bodhidharma settled in the Chinese province of Henan in 523 AD to teach a philosophy of self-contemplation derived from Mahayana Buddhism at Mountain Song Shan in a daoism influenced Shaolin Monastery which is still active today, and located in Dengfeng. From this philosophy, the so-called and worldwide known Zen Buddhism was developed.

In his teaching, Bodhidharma is said to have introduced a set of exercises for the monks who were physically weakened because of the meditations. Bodhidharma convinced the monks that it’s important not only to strengthen the mind but also the body by promoting their physical health. This set of exercises included movements derived from Indian combat methods. It’s said that Bodhidharma created the foundation of many schools of Chinese martial arts with his exercises in that Shaolin Monastery, and made it the center of Chinese martial arts. The later dispersal of the monks who were then perceived by the Chinese emperor as a threat to himself because of their fighting skills, was the reason why this martial art became more and more widespread and practiced by a rising number of people.

Today's Karate-Do

Even today, this Far Eastern philosophy is reflected in karate. Karate is not only a discipline of body control, but also a school of mental training. The training is primarily not about fighting with others but at first, every karate student has to fight with himself. In today’s karate, we can learn to know our own strengths and weaknesses, and how to overcome our fears. We can experience how much we can expand our physical and mental limits by constant training, and furthermore we can learn how to deal with success and failure, to trust others and to resolve conflicts together.

Consequently, the main goals in karate are the training of the mind, character and attitude of each karate student.

The ultimate aim of Karate lies not in victory or defeat,
but in the perfection of the character of its participants.
Gichin Funakoshi

In karate, the training is based on three pillars: kihon, kumite and kata.

Kihon means basics, and teaches technics like stances, strikes, punches, kicks and blocks which should form the fundament of each karate student. These basics are laid as foundation to succeed in kumite later. By constant repetition, the techniques get perfected to put them together to a more complex form in the kata discipline. In addition, the kumite covers that part of karate why the hard training karate student is able to defend himself adequately in serious and sometimes in hopeless situations. In kata, the karate students follow a formalized sequence of movements which are precisely defined in a form and which represent various offensive and defensive technics. While practicing katas, the karate student fights imaginary opponents.

The karate training is linked to a strict code of behaviour which is characterized by values like disciple, respect and courtesy. This is a reason why karate is still a proven way for its students to develop their character, and also as preventive actions against diseases.

Karate

ダミカ空手道会菅

Ursprung des Karate-Do

Kalligrafie der jap. Kanji Schriftzeichen für „Karate-Dō“

Karate-Dō, früher meist nur als Karate (dt. „leere Hand“) bezeichnet, bedeutet der „Weg der leeren Hand“ und ist sowohl eine Kampfkunst als auch eine Methode der Selbstverteidigung, deren Geschichte sich sicher bis ins Okinawa des 19. Jahrhunderts zurückverfolgen lässt. Der Zusatz „“ im Begriff „Karate-Dō“ wird verwendet um den philosophischen Hintergrund dieser Kampfkunst und ihre Bedeutung als Lebensweg zu unterstreichen, denn Karate-Dō ist nicht nur Kampfkunst, sondern auch ein Weg zur Weiterentwicklung der Persönlichkeit und zur Festigung des Charakters.

Okinawa ist der Geburtsort des eigentlichen Karate. Von dort aus, hat sich das Karate auf das japanische Festland ausgebreitet und wurde dort weiter perfektioniert.

Das Karate selbst hat allerdings weder einen okinawanischen noch einen japanischen Ursprung, sondern die ihr zu Grunde liegenden Techniken gehen auf eine Jahrhunderte alte Tradition mit indischen und chinesischen Wurzeln zurück. Deutlich wird dies daran, dass im Karate einige Katas vorkommen, welche in buddhistischen Tempeln entwickelt wurden und die auch mit dem Shaolin in Verbindung gebracht werden.
Wenn wir uns also mit der Entstehungsgeschichte der Kampfkünste und damit auch die des Karate auseinandersetzen, müssen wir schlussfolgern, dass der Ursprung von allem bei indisch-buddhistischen Mönchen liegt. Ihnen diente die Kampfkunst zur Selbstverteidigung und zum Schutz gegen Diebe. Auch wurden die Übungen für die Erhaltung der Gesundheit praktiziert.

Doch der Reihe nach: Es war einmal ein buddhistischer Mönch namens Bodhidharma (* um 440; † um 528) (chinesisch 菩提達摩, Pinyin Pútídámó oder kurz Damo 達摩, jap. Bodai-Daruma oder Daruma). Während seine Existenz teilweise historisch belegt ist, liegen die historische Einzelheiten weitestgehend im Dunklen. Den Quellen von Zeitgenossen zufolge war Bodhidharma nicht nur der 28. Nachfolger Buddhas sondern vermutlich auch der dritte Sohn eines indischen Königs. Für letzteres spricht, dass er in allen höfischen Sitten und in Vajramushti (eine alte indische Form des Kämpfens) ausgebildet war. Entgegen anderslautenden Berichten war Bodhidharma wohl kein Mitglied der Brahmanen-Kaste, sondern von der Kshatriya-Kaste. Bodhidharma gilt heute als der erste Patriarch der Chan- und Zen-Linien.

Bodhidharma (Yoshitoshi, 1887)

Der Legende nach verließ er 480 n. Chr. seine indische Heimat südlich von Madras (Indien) nach China, wanderte zuerst nach Südchina und dann an den Kaiserhof der Liang-Dynastie. Bodhidharma ließ sich in der Folge im Jahr 523 n. Chr. in der chinesischen Provinz Henan nieder, um dort am Berg Song Shan im heutigen Ort Dengfeng im bis heute aktiven und damals daoistisch geprägten Kloster Shaolin eine vom Mahayana-Buddhismus abgeleitete Philosophie der Selbstbetrachtung zu lehren. Aus dieser Philosophie sollte sich später der heute weltweit bekannte ZEN-Buddhismus entwickeln.

Bodhidharma führte bei seiner Lehre eine Form der Meditation in Bewegung ein. Diese Bewegungen waren aus indischen Zweikampfmethoden abgeleitet worden und sollten den wegen des vielen Meditierens körperlich geschwächten Mönchen zu einem besseren körperlichen Zustand verhelfen. Bodhidharma überzeugte die Mönche, dass es nicht nur wichtig ist, den Geist, sondern auch den Körper zu stärken. Damit legte er der Überlieferung zufolge im Shaolin-Kloster den Grundstein für einige chinesische Kampfkünste und machte es zum Zentrum der chinesischen Kampfkunst. Durch die spätere Zerstreuung der Mönche – sie wurden später vom chinesischen Kaiser aufgrund ihrer kämpferischen Fähigkeiten als Bedrohung für sich selbst empfunden – wurde diese Kampfkunst immer weiter verbreitet und praktiziert.

Das heutige Karate-Do

Auch heute spiegelt sich diese fernöstliche Philosophie im Karate-Dō wieder. Karate ist nicht nur eine Disziplin der Körperbeherrschung, sondern auch eine Schule der Geistesbildung. Im Training geht es in erster Linie nicht darum mit anderen zu kämpfen – vielmehr trägt jeder Karateka zunächst einmal einen Kampf mit sich selbst aus.

Wir lernen unsere eigenen Stärken und Schwächen kennen, unsere Ängste zu überwinden und erfahren durch ständiges Trainieren, wie sehr man durch das Bemühen seine körperlichen und geistigen Grenzen erweitern kann. Auch lernen wir unsere Fähigkeiten und Grenzen auszuloten, mit Erfolg und Misserfolg umzugehen, anderen zu vertrauen und gemeinsam Konflikte zu lösen. Das Training des Geistes, des Charakters und der inneren Einstellung sind sodann auch die Hauptziele, welche im Karate verfolgt werden.

Oberstes Ziel in der Kunst des Karate ist weder Sieg noch Niederlage, sondern liegt in der Vervollkommnung des Charakters des Ausübenden.
Gichin Funakoshi

Im Karate baut sich das Training auf drei großen Säulen auf: dem Kihon, dem Kumite und der Kata.

Im Kihon werden die einzelnen Techniken gelehrt, die das Fundament des Karate bilden sollen. Dabei wird die Grundlage geschaffen, um später im Kumite erfolgreich sein zu können. Durch das ständige Wiederholen werden die Techniken weiter perfektioniert, um diese in der Kata-Disziplin zu einer komplexeren Form zusammensetzen zu können. Daneben wird mit dem Kumite jener Bereich abgedeckt, der es dem trainierenden Karateschüler nach ausreichender Übung ermöglicht, sich in ernsten und teilweise aussichtslosen Situationen angemessen verteidigen zu können. Im Kata folgen die Karateschüler schließlich einem festgelegten Muster im Raum, d.h. die Reihenfolge der Techniken sind in einem Formenlauf genau festgelegt. Der Trainierende lernt beim Üben der Katas den Kampf gegen imaginäre Gegner.

Das Training selbst ist mit einem strengen Verhaltenskodex verbunden, der durch Disziplin, Respekt und Höflichkeit geprägt ist, weshalb Karate als Ganzes für den Trainierenden auch heute als bewährter Weg zu einer charakterlichen Weiterentwicklung und als vorbeugende Maßnahme gegen Erkrankungen dient.